European Parliament subcommittee on tax

The Presidents of the European Parliament have finally agreed to set up a sub-committee on tax matters. This will be a sub-committee of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs and will be responsible for tax related matters including the fight against tax fraud, tax evasion and tax avoidance, as well as financial transparency on tax.  
Unlike the four previous special and inquiry committees established after the tax scandals, this has been established as a permanent fixture. The ad hoc committees drew membership from a number of European Parliament Committees and their mandates went beyond tax matters, including financial crimes such as money laundering. We believe this won't be the case for the new sub-committee, since it can't include the other relevant committees in its structure. The Committee will have 30 members and four vice-chairs. 
You can find the draft decision in a tweet here. Once we know more, I'll share an update on membership and upcoming agendas.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.